Poll

How do you assess the performance of our website?
excellent
good
satisfactory
bad
View result

Results

excellent
29 (64%)
good
10 (22%)
satisfactory
3 (7%)
bad
3 (7%)
Polls archive

Kruzhilin Memorial and Historical Complex

Parental Estate of M.A. Sholokhov

The Sholokhovs’ house, the birthplace of the would-be writer, was built in the 70s of the XIX century. Before Alexander Mikhailovich, Misha’s father, bought it in 1898, it belonged to the deacon of the local church.

The house is a typical Cossack kuren under a reed roof: the windows with platbands, upstairs there are three rooms (a hall, a bedroom, a chamber), in the basement of the house there is a lower ground floor dwelling called “nizy” by Cossacks.

The household articles and furniture reflect the Sholokhovs’ everyday life early in the XX century. The biggest room is a chamber called “gornitsa”, which Alexander Mikhailovich used as a study. Here he worked, received guests, read books, newspapers, journals he was subscribed to. He was interested in the history of the Russian State, economics, agriculture; he was fond of classic literature, the works by Pushkin, Tolstoy, Nekrasov, Chekhov. It was Alexander Mikhailovich who inculcated in Misha a love for reading.

In the lower ground floor dwelling there is a big Russian stove, which heated the rooms and was used for cooking. Here it was warm in winter and cool in summer, and it was here that the whole family had meals and was engaged in various household works. The stove-couch, warm and spacious, was used for children to sleep (in the house at that time, the sister of Alexander Mikhailovich, Serghina Olga Mikhailovna, and her children lived). Misha was a good friend with his cousins and played with them.

In the estate there is a big orchard, a bath-house, a barn for grain, stables and outbuildings including a coal-tar room, an ice-house, a chaff-room and a shop.

The father of the would-be writer was an educated, prominent person in the village. The Cossacks respected him for his artlessness, sociable disposition and intellect. The people came to him with their troubles and needs, and “Mikhalych” helped his countrymen with his advice, wrote letters, solicitations. In the first room of the bath-house, where he had his writing table, a chair, benches, Alexander Mikhailovich received his visitors, carried on his commercial business affairs, kept his accounts. Serving as clerk “on farming” for a grain industrialist and manufacturer Paramonov Sholokhov purchased grain from Cossacks and sent it to Bazki grain collecting site of Paramonov, acted as a middleman for landowner Popov in the matters of livestock sale and purchase, attended to his own commercial business. The shop of “Mikhalych” sold hardware, household goods, fabrics, groceries, toilet articles and clothes.

In 1910, the Sholokhovs moved to Karghin Village and the estate was sold to Shutova, a merchant’s wife, and in 1928, the house became the property of the village council.

In 1984, the Sholokhovs’ house and estate entered into the structure of the Museum-Reserve, and now it is one of the most popular sites.

Опрос

Какие строки романа М. Шолохова «Тихий Дон» вспоминаются Вам чаще?
Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
Посмотреть результаты опроса

Результаты опроса

Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
214 (38%)
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
50 (9%)
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
130 (23%)
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
69 (12%)
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
49 (9%)
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
48 (9%)
Архив опросов

Кружилинский мемориально-исторический комплекс

Родительская усадьба М.А. Шолохова

Дом Шолоховых, в котором родился будущий писатель, был построен в 70-е годы XIX в.  До того, как в 1898 году его купил Александр Михайлович Шолохов, отец Миши, он принадлежал дьякону местной церкви. 

Дом представляет собой типичный казачий курень под камышовой крышей: окна с наличниками, наверху три комнаты (прихожая, спальня, горница), под домом – «низы» (так казаки называли полуподвальное жилое помещение). 

Предметы обихода и мебель отражают  быт семьи Шолоховых в начале XX века. Самая большая комната – горница, которую Александр Михайлович использовал в качестве кабинета. Здесь он работал, принимал гостей, читал книги, газеты, журналы, которые выписывал. Его интересовали история Российского государства, экономика, сельское хозяйство, любил классическую литературу, сочинения Пушкина, Толстого, Некрасова,    Чехова. Именно Александр Михайлович привил Мише любовь к чтению.

В низах - большая русская печь, которая обогревала помещение и в которой готовилась еда. Зимой здесь было тепло, летом прохладно, и вся семья обедала, занималась разными хозяйственными делами именно в низах. На лежанке, тёплой и просторной, спали дети (в доме в те годы жила родная сестра Александра Михайловича - Сергина Ольга Михайловна – с детьми). Миша крепко сдружился и играл со своими двоюродными братьями.

На усадьбе большой фруктовый сад, флигель-банька, амбар для ссыпки зерна, сарай-конюшня, в котором располагались дегтярня, ледник, мякинник и непосредственно конюшня, и торговая лавка. 

Отец будущего писателя был образованным, видным человеком в хуторе. Казаки его уважали за простоту, общительность и ум, шли к нему с малыми и большими заботами, и «Михалыч» помогал землякам советами, писал письма, ходатайства. В первой комнате флигеля-баньки, где находились рабочий стол, стул, лавки, Александр Михайлович принимал «ходоков», вёл свои коммерческие дела,  занимался документацией. Будучи приказчиком «на откупе» у хлебопромышленника и фабриканта Парамонова, Шолохов скупал хлеб у казаков и отправлял его в Базки на парамоновскую ссыпку, был посредником у помещика Попова в вопросах купли-продажи скота, вёл собственное торговое дело. В лавке «Михалыча» были и хозяйственные товары, и бакалея, и мануфактура, и предметы туалета, и одежда.

В 1910 году, в связи с отъездом  Шолоховых в х. Каргин, усадьба была продана купчихе Шутовой, а в 1928 году дом перешёл в собственность сельского Совета. 

В 1984 году дом и усадьба Шолоховых вошли в состав музея-заповедника, и сегодня это один из наиболее посещаемых объектов.