Poll

How do you assess the performance of our website?
excellent
good
satisfactory
bad
View result

Results

excellent
20 (63%)
good
9 (28%)
satisfactory
1 (3%)
bad
2 (6%)
Polls archive

The Biography of M.A. Sholokhov

Mikhail Aleksandrovich Sholokhov was born on May, 24, 1905, in the village of Kruzhilin, Stanitsa Vyoshenskaya, Donetsk District of the Don Army Region (now the Sholokhov District of the Rostov Region).

In 1910 the Sholokhovs moved to the village of Karghin where at the age of 7 Misha was admitted to the boys’ parochial school. From 1914 till 1918 he attended boys’ schools of Moscow, Boguchar, Vyoshenskaya.

In 1920-1922 he served in the stanitsa’s Revolutionary Committee, worked as teacher for adult education in the village of Latyshev, as clerk in the purchasing office of the Don Provision Committee in Stanitsa Karghinskaya, as tax inspector in Stanitsa Bukanovskaya.

In October of 1922 he left for Moscow, where he worked as loader, bricklayer, accountant in the housing office in Krasnaya Presnya. He got acquainted with men of letters, attended the sessions in the literary society “Molodaya Gvardiya”. At this time young Sholokhov acquired his first literary experience. In the autumn of 1923 the newspaper “Yunosheskaya Pravda” published two of his feuilletons – “A Trial” and “The Three”.

n the December of 1923 he returned to the Don. On January, 11, 1924, he was wedded in the Bukanovskaya church with Mariya Petrovna Gromoslavskaya, the daughter of the former stanitsa’s ataman.

Mariya Petrovna, having finished the Ust-Medveditskaya diocesan school, worked in Stanitsa Bukanovskaya first as primary school teacher, then as clerk in the executive committee, where at that time Sholokhov worked as inspector. Having got married, they never parted until their last days. The Sholokhovs lived 60 years together, raised and brought up four children.

On December, 14, 1924, M.A. Sholokhov published his first work of fiction, the story “The Birthmark” in the newspaper “Molodoy Leninets” (the “Young Leninist”), then he joined the Russian Association of the Proletarian Writers.

Sholokhov’s stories “A Shephered”, “The Shibalkovs’ Kin”, “Bastard”, “Deadly Enemy”, “Alyoshka’s Heart”, “A Wife for Two Husbands”, “A Whirlpool”, a tale “The Way the Life Goes” appeared on pages of the central periodicals, and in 1926 the books of collected stories “The Don Stories”, “The Tulip Steppe” (“Lazorevaya Steppe”) was published.

In 1925 Mikhail Aleksandrovich began writing the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don”. Those years the Sholokhovs lived in Karghinskaya, then in Bukanovskaya, and from 1926 in Vyoshenskaya.

In 1928 the journal “Oktyabr” began publishing the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don”.

After publication of the first volume of the novel the writer experienced hard times: it was a stunning success with the readers, but in the writing circles there ascended a malevolent atmosphere. Envy for the young writer, who was called a new genius, gave rise to slander, banal figments. The author’s position in describing the Upper Don rebellion was harshly criticized by the Russian Association of the Proletarian Writers, who suggested to elide more than 30 chapters from the book, to make the protagonist a Bolshevik.

Sholokhov was only 23, but he was steady and courageous to endure the attacks. His firm belief in his strength and vocation helped him.  To stop the malicious slander, the rumours about the plagiarism he applied to the responsible secretary and the member of the editorial board of the newspaper “Pravda” M.I. Uliyanova asking for an expert commission and gave her his manuscripts of the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don”. In the spring of 1929 the writers A. Serafimovich, L. Averbakh, V. Kirshon, A. Fadeyev, V. Stavskiy wrote in the “Pravda” in favour of the young writer bringing forward the proofs of the commission’s issues. The rumours stopped. But the spiteful critics would try many times to slander Sholokhov, who was honest to speak about the terrible events in the life of the country, unwilling to deviate from the historic truth.

The novel was finished in 1940. In the 30-s Sholokhov began working over the novel “Virgin Soil Upturned”.

During the war years Mikhail Aleksandrovich Sholokhov was a war correspondent for the Sovinform Bureau, the newspapers “Pravda” and “Krasnaya Zvezda”. He published frontline essays, the story “The Science of Hatred”, the first chapters of the novel “ They Fought for Their Country”. Sholokhov contributed the State Prize he was conferred to for the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don” to the USSR Defence Fund, then for his own substance he bought four new rocket launchers for the front”.

For participation in the Great Patriotic war he was awarded with the Order of the Patriotic War of the First Degree, medals “For Defending Moscow”, “For Defending Stalingrad”, “For the Victory over Germany in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945”, “Twenty Years of the Victory in the Great Patriotic War”.

After the war the writer finished the second book of “Virgin Soil Upturned”, worked over the novel “They Fought for Their Country”, wrote the story “The Fate of a Man”.

Mikhail Aleksandrovich Sholokhov was the laureate of the Nobel, State and Lenin prizes in literature, he was twice the Hero of Socialist Labour, the full Member of the USSR Academy of Sciences, the conferee of the Honoured Doctor’s  Degree of Law of Saint-Andrews University in Scotland, of the Philosophy Doctor’s Degree of the Leipzig University in Germany, of the Philology Doctor’s Degree of the Rostov State University, the Deputy of the USSR Supreme Soviet of all convocations. He was rewarded with six Orders of Lenin, the Order of the October Revolution, other rewards. In Stanitsa Vyoshenskaya during his life time his bronze bust was erected. This list of diplomas, rewards, honoured titles and social responsibilities of the writer is far from being complete.

At present the electronic catalogue of the Chamber of Books contains 1408 editions of the works by M.A. Sholokhov with a circulation totalling to 105349943 copies in more than 90 languages of the world.

M.A. Sholokhov deceased on February, 21, 1984. He was buried in the garden by his house on the high bank of the Don.

In the year of the writer’s decease in his homeland the State M.A. Sholokhov Museum-Reserve was founded.

Опрос

Какие строки романа М. Шолохова «Тихий Дон» вспоминаются Вам чаще?
Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
Посмотреть результаты опроса

Результаты опроса

Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
214 (38%)
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
50 (9%)
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
130 (23%)
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
69 (12%)
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
49 (9%)
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
48 (9%)
Архив опросов

Биография

Михаил Александрович  Шолохов родился 24 мая 1905 г. в хуторе Кружилине станицы Вёшенской Донецкого округа Области Войска Донского (теперь Шолоховский район Ростовской области).

В 1910 году семья  Шолоховых переезжает в хутор Каргин, где в 7-летнем возрасте Миша был принят в мужское приходское училище. С 1914 по 1918 г. учится в мужских гимназиях Москвы, Богучара и Вёшенской.

В 1920-1922 гг. работает служащим в станичном ревкоме, учителем по ликвидации неграмотности среди взрослых в х. Латышеве, делопроизводителем в заготконторе Донпродкома в ст. Каргинской, налоговым инспектором в ст. Букановской.

В октябре 1922 г. уезжает в Москву. Работает грузчиком, каменщиком, счетоводом в жилуправлении на Красной Пресне. Он знакомится с представителями литературной среды, посещает занятия литобъединения «Молодая гвардия». К этому времени относятся первые писательские опыты молодого Шолохова. Осенью 1923 года «Юношеская правда» публикует два его фельетона – «Испытание» и «Три».

В декабре 1923 г. возвращается на Дон. 11 января 1924 г. венчается в Букановской церкви с Марией Петровной Громославской, дочерью бывшего станичного атамана.

Мария Петровна, окончив Усть-Медведицкое  епархиальное училище, работала в ст. Букановской сначала учительницей  в начальной школе, затем делопроизводителем в исполкоме, где в то время был инспектором Шолохов. Поженившись, они были неразлучны до конца своих дней. Вместе Шолоховы прожили 60 лет, вырастив  и воспитав четверых детей.

14 декабря 1924 г. М.А. Шолохов публикует первое художественное произведение – рассказ «Родинка» в газете «Молодой ленинец». Вступает в члены Российской ассоциации пролетарских писателей.

На страницах центральных изданий появляются рассказы Шолохова «Пастух», «Шибалково семя», «Нахалёнок», «Смертный враг», «Алёшкино сердце», «Двухмужняя», «Коловерть», повесть «Путь-дороженька», а в 1926 году выходят сборники «Донские рассказы» и «Лазоревая степь».

В 1925 году Михаил Александрович приступает  к созданию романа «Тихий Дон». В эти годы семья Шолоховых живёт в Каргинской, затем в Букановской, а с 1926 года – в Вёшенской. В 1928 году журнал «Октябрь» начинает печатать «Тихий Дон».

После публикации первого тома романа для писателя наступают трудные дни: успех у читателей - ошеломляющий, а вот в писательских кругах воцаряется недоброжелательная атмосфера. Зависть к молодому писателю, которого называют новым гением, рождает клевету, пошлые измышления. Позиция автора при описании Верхнедонского восстания подвергается резкой критике со стороны РАППа,  предлагается выбросить из книги более 30 глав, сделать главного героя большевиком.

Шолохову всего 23 года, но он стойко и мужественно переносит нападки. Ему помогает уверенность в своих силах, в призвании. Чтобы пресечь злобную клевету, слухи о плагиате, он обращается к ответственному секретарю и члену редколлегии газеты «Правда» М. И. Ульяновой с настоятельной просьбой создать экспертную комиссию и передаёт ей рукописи «Тихого Дона». Весной 1929 года писатели А. Серафимович, Л. Авербах, В. Киршон, А. Фадеев, В. Ставский выступают в «Правде» в защиту молодого автора, опираясь на выводы комиссии. Слухи прекращаются. Но злопыхатели ещё не раз будут предпринимать попытки очернить Шолохова, который честно говорит о трагических событиях в жизни страны, не желает отходить от исторической правды.

Роман был закончен в 1940 году. В 30-е годы Шолохов начинает работу над романом «Поднятая целина».

В годы войны Михаил Александрович Шолохов – военный корреспондент Совинформбюро, газет «Правда» и «Красная звезда». Он публикует фронтовые очерки, рассказ «Наука ненависти», первые главы романа «Они сражались за Родину».  Государственную премию, присуждённую за роман «Тихий Дон», Шолохов передаёт в фонд обороны СССР,  а затем приобретает на свои собственные средства для фронта четыре новые ракетные установки.

За участие в Великой Отечественной войне имеет награды – орден Отечественной войны I степени, медали «За оборону Москвы», «За оборону Сталинграда», «За победу над Германией в Великой Отечественной войне 1941-1945 гг.», «Двадцать лет победы в Великой Отечественной войне».

После войны писатель заканчивает 2-ю книгу «Поднятой целины», работает над романом «Они сражались за Родину», пишет рассказ «Судьба человека».

Михаил Александрович Шолохов – лауреат Нобелевской, Государственной и Ленинской премий в области литературы, дважды Герой Социалистического Труда, действительный член Академии наук СССР,  обладатель степени почетного доктора права Сент-Эндрюсского университета в Шотландии, доктора философии Лейпцигского университета в Германии, доктора филологии Ростовского государственного университета, депутат Верховного Совета всех созывов. Он награжден шестью орденами Ленина, орденом Октябрьской революции, другими наградами.  В станице Вёшенской ему при жизни установлен бронзовый бюст. И это далеко не полный перечень премий, наград, почетных званий и общественных обязанностей писателя.

Произведения М.А. Шолохова издавались 1408 раз общим тиражом 105 349 943 экземпляра на более чем 90 языках мира.

Умер М.А. Шолохов 21 февраля 1984 года. Похоронен в саду у дома, на высоком донском берегу.

В год смерти писателя на его родине образован Государственный музей-заповедник М.А. Шолохова.